Airplane Appreciation

airplane-travel-disability-rights

So today, or I guess tonight considering its two in the morning here, I am going to be talking about a very important topic that I believe deserves our undivided attention. That topic is: planes. Now stay with me here. Have you ever thought to yourself, “Gee I wonder what it would be like to surround myself with metal and give my life up to God as that metal begins to float in the air.” ‘Cause I know I have. Because I just thought of it.

Joke’s on you because you are now reading the ramblings of a sleep deprived teenager as she talks about the utter strangeness of planes.

But in all seriousness (kind of), planes are so weird. They are literally giant, metal birds that weigh tons and can still manage to lift their fat butts into the air and be controlled by us mere mortals. WHAAAAAT?? Let’s reflect on that again. A flipping heavy piece of hollow metal is floating through the sky at a thousand miles per hour and we just accept that as the norm. I mean I know that there is an explanation obviously, but do non-engineers and pilots understand it? Probably not.

And yet we climb onto these tin birds every day and somehow know that we will land where we want.

You know what kind of bird airplanes are? They are like majestic silver swans gracefully floating in the air like they are part of the ballet. Yes there may be turbulence, but these silver swans never fail to make the entire show entertaining and exhilarating.

You know how they say “it’s not about the destination. It’s about the journey.”? Well I think whoever said that (probably Ghandi, that guy was cool) wanted us to enjoy these metal swans as we are traveling. Like this shouldn’t even be possible… but it is. How can you not be amazed by that. Traveling on a plane is literally the closest we can get to flying in our lifetime. How are we not all sitting at the airport staring open mouthed as these silver swans take off and land in the most majestic freaking way possible.

This has been a PSA for everyone to start loving planes. Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

